Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:50 a.m. - 2003-05-15
Ups and Downs
The cat came back - I take that as a good sign. Miss Kitty broke through one of the window screens when her buddies outside became vocal. Two days and one night later, she decided to grace us with her presence. She's still ambivalent and stands by the door yowling from time to time, but the tuna and mirrors, the ear scratching and sleep uninterrupted have won out - for now.

Work wasn't so great today. I've been in the doghouse since I reported the security issue with the database. T2 and B continue to take away or withhold as much as they can without actually putting me in a position where I can only sit at the desk. The odd thing is I keep dreaming about an IT person coming to the rescue. This male, who resembles the description of Taliesin in one of the series of books we read out loud at home, supplies me with a computer that does wondrous things almost with thought instead of touch - no keyboard - while the "hardware is almost fluid in nature. I don't have the language or the technical concepts necessary to explain what I dream of any better than that. Way cool though. Today I also found a lot more data relabeled or moved so one could only have access if one knew or was told where to look. Not a comfortable feeling to keep finding things like that occurring.

Went to my chiropractor at lunch and we discussed the link between tubals and weight problems in women. Don't know what he might do but he said he'd check a couple of things out. Then dropped by the audio store where I bought my discman less than a year ago - a Panasonic. That extended warranty I purchased? Well, depends on whether they can get parts or not - I may have to wait six weeks I'm told and then still not be guaranteed a fully operational product. Don't think I'll ever purchase that brand again.

Got home a found two e-mails from my friend still in the Middle East. She doesn't live in the compound in Saudi Arabia that was just bombed, but not that far away either. She was trying to reassure us that she was ok, but it sounds as though the situation may be a lot more tenuous than is being reported. She included an eyewitness report from one of her friends who was in the compound and found herself very close to ground zero. She talks of the devastation and the deaths - sounds as though the majority known so far are children. The assassins chose to detonate the pickup they used at the rec center. Schools and all other public buildings are closed of course and right now the witness says she can't get out of the country although she would leave immediately if she could. Makes one's stomach turn over. Hope my friend chooses to evacuate soon. Called my sister right after I responded to my friend to see if their Doctor friend and his family were safe. They thought so, because they don't live in Riyadh, but they were checking around to be sure.

There were accidents in several places along our train route this evening and a series of phone calls tonight from different people all troubled and wanting a shoulder to lean on. Don't mind that, but I think I will blame this on the eclipse due tomorrow just so I can tell myself things will ease off soon. Peak of the eclipse at 10:42 PM EST tomorrow night. Mercury goes direct on Monday. I expect roses and rainbows after that - don't you?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats