Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:54 a.m. - 2003-05-13
Security
I think I had something to say, but I can't remember right now. I remember dreaming about diamonds - the gems not the sports things. Setting - don't know, maybe a necklace. Something about my knees - sort of a cancan thing. Oops maybe not, wouldn't be ladylike. Kaleidoscopic images, nothing settling long enough to grasp a meaning.

Work today? Security breach with one of the databases I work with. Reported it, because I saw what happened when it wasn't addressed at another worksite. Not pretty. A bit tension in the voices of those I spoke with, but downplaying any real concern.

Walked to 17th Avenue at lunch - 10 city blocks away. One of my friends from high school has become a fairly well known artist. When I talked with her at the reunion, I asked where the closest exhibit was. Problem, of course, is that most of the galleries are closed on Monday and I forgot. I'll be back within a week though, because some of my (other) favorite Canadian artists (the Group of Seven) are also on display there. I saw some of their major canvases on display at the National Gallery when I went for training in Ottawa last. It was hard to leave the room.

Kind of a romantic story my friend had to tell about her journey to becoming an artist. I expressed puzzlement when we talked, because I didn't recall her ever even picking up a brush much less painting with one. She said she had met her hubby at work - her boss. Classic Harlequin story although she didn't go into it. Her Mom died after her marriage; she dealt with that by delving into her creative side. Her hubby recognized that hidden talent and told her to stay home and work with it. He could support the two of them for as long as it took. Her Dad teasing her every time he visited. Finally recognition. Nice story.

On the way back to work, another kind of art - grafitti. It's ubiquitous in some places downtown, although the police and the merchants clean it up as soon as they can. Some of the "tagging" is just self expression, but some is also the way some gangs communicate with each other. Remember those police I mentioned waiting at the train station the other day. Nothing was said about an incident there, but the next day there was a big fight of about 80 teens in another quarter of the city. Police can't be everywhere. Besides, to read and interpret all the "tags", they'd need staff who could work with alphabets from the Middle East and Asia as well as the Western scripts. Anyway, the reason I noticed today was the flash of a lightbulb as I was going through the railway underpass back to the north side of downtown. Police photographer snapping pics, caught me in one photo - the light kind of blinded me momentarily.

End of the day, the new owner of the other half of my duplex stopped by. Mike, he said his name was. Maybe, but he was also from a country where that isn't a favoured moniker. Nice guy though. Talked with him about his tenants - young men in their 20's. They've been partying more frequently and longer; til 4:30 am this past Sunday - Happy Mother's Day! That is likely to become even more frequent as the weather warms up - not. Anyway, he had stopped by to talk about the fence our propeties share. Yes I know it is falling apart, but after 24 years and our Canadian winters, that isn't surprising. Once I have some extra cash, fixing the fence is my first priority. He went away happy with that. I came away happy too since he offered to help with costs and labour AND he went and had a word with his young tenants. Not bad guys - just thoughtless.

And so to bed.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats