Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 p.m. - 2003-05-09
Absorption
In the most recent volume of the series "Harry Potter, Goblet of Fire", there is a sequence of events that plays out in the Headmaster, Dumbledore's, office. The purpose of the scene seems to be to explain some of the history affecting the unfolding mystery, while preparing Harry for the next turn of events, where prior understanding of the past, thoughts, behaviour and motives of the antiheroes is essential to his survival.

The author chose a rather elegant vehicle for those revelations in the form of a magical object called a "pensieve" (pensive). While momentarily alone in the office, Harry is drawn into it and finds himself inside Dumbledore's direct visual memories of prior events without the ability to become involved. All he can do is observe exactly what his mentor saw and experienced in three dimensions, with the strengths and limitations that offers. The greatest strength, of course, is direct access to information and history created before Harry's birth, while the weakness is that it comes to him through the single filter of one person's eyes and understanding.

When Dumbledore returns and extracts Harry from the pensieve, he shows Harry how those thoughts were placed there. He takes his wand, places it up to his temple and draws out silver threads which he places into the vessel. He notes those are his memories of the past few hours. He comments " I sometimes find, and I'm sure you know the feeling, that I have too many thoughts and memories crammed into my mind." "At these times....I use the pensieve. One simply siphons the excess thoughts from one's mind, pours them into the basin, and then examines them at one's leisure [editorial comment - or need]. It becomes easier to spot patterns and links, you understand, when they are in this form."

I was thinking about this passage after reading someone else's journal on the net. They noted they had been accused of being self-absorbed, partly because of their writing and partly because they wanted to charge for their specialized services with respect to a portion of that writing. I believe it's called earning a living.

Very few of us will ever have access to magical objects that help us reflect clearly on difficult issues. Certainly not ones that allow us to relive the moment in 3D. Alternatively though, there is the practice of journalling, however one does that, which is probably the best non-magical tool there is for dealing with confusing or challenging issues - one's own and those of others in one's life. It is a safe way to express what one needs to say - venting. In so doing, it forces one to order their thoughts and provide the context(s)for one's reaction to certain experiences. Used well it is an excellent reflective tool - for asking questions like "who's responsibility is this", "what part do I have in creating these circumstances" and the big question "why this action, or response now". Self understanding. It helps one become a better human over time, if that intent and follow through is there.

In the journal of the person I was reading, I would say that is the case, otherwise I wouldn't bother with it. That is the second value of a journal if one is allowed the privilege of access to another person's- seeing things through the eyes of another, which might help one develop a better understanding or perspective on an issue or challenge.

When I write in my diary or when I read someone else's those are key purposes for me. It is also one of the best destressor's I've come across. With the kind of work I do it also helps me figure out what's happening over time. Going back to what I wrote months ago and following along my observations, made as close to the instant as I can manage, allows me to pick up links and patterns I might otherwise miss. It also suggests solutions or responses that will improve my interactions with those I spend so much time with everyday, as well as showing what my part in creating or sustaining certain behaviours might be. Not perfect because I'm not, but it's the best I can do. Instructive.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats