Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:20 a.m. - 2003-05-05
Stream of Consciousness
Cherry blossoms grow

beneath my bedroom window,

covered with spring snow.

Haiku and true too. My Nanking cherry tree is blooming and we do have a skiff of snow. The short range forecast is for continuing unstable weather so not much is likely to change. Beats the first tonado sighting in the southern corner of our province last week, though. We don't usually get those warnings until the end of June. Even rarer is the sighting of a funnel cloud, although they do set down on occasion. Last week in July is the most dangerous time for us.

The antibiotics the doctor gave me are starting to work. The downside is that I spent a good part of the weekend curled up in bed. Can't keep anything down - one of the side effects. Don't know if I can manage the transit thing tomorrow. An hour is a long time when one is that queasy, but I don't want to stop taking the meds now when they are just taking hold. I'll just end up back at square one -- sicker than I am now. Guess I'll see in the morning. On the upside I did manage to get all my work stats done in my lucid moments (about four hours) this weekend and they've been sent in. Won't get paid for the time, but it's worth the reduction in stress.

Speaking of stress, haven't looked at a newspaper in about three weeks now. I'm beginning to believe it is as necessary for the mind to take "a vacation" as it is for the body. I don't have any patience for people who don't think, or care, about anything beyond their own little closed in circle when reality bites, but the break is necessary once in a while.

"I'll think about that tomorrow" as Ms. Scarlett would say when things became too overwhelming. She may not have followed all the conventions of her time, but she did well for her family and community when she followed her moral compass and strove to meet basic needs. She stumbled whenever she let her wants at the expense of others override that. Don't know what one can do when the overwhelming issues are so big - war, pestilence, and greed. I think I'll think about that tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats