Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:41 a.m. - 2003-04-30
The King
Role reversal perpetrated by number four son. He fessed up yesterday. You see, some CDs had gone missing from my work and home collections. Couldn't figure it out and just put it down to mentalpause. Nope. He's decided he wants to audit what I'm listening to. Noticed the "Romantic Nights" CD was returned in a hurry. Truly beautiful tenor and baritone arias, from key operas, sung by the best. My son's idea of romantic are selections from various rap and hip hop artists. Each to their own. My Tantric Chants cd was gone for a long time and my cd of remastered Elvis - the King - hits finally returned last night, so the child does have some of my tastes.

To celebrate his return, I listened to Elvis most of today. Sounds even better piped straight into one's ears - more personal. Interesting what one hears of inflection and intonation that way. There are a lot of subtleties to the King's voice that make it so special, but one can rarely pick out single factors. My favorite right now? The cut "Too Much". I used to love watching my parents dance together. It was one of their favorite things to do - the jive - and they were so smooth. It always looked as if they were just reading each others'thoughts on their next move.

No son of mine is demonstrating any signs of inheriting the talent and there is no one else in my circle who enjoys that sort of thing. So, for my virtual dance partner? You got it, the King himself. Might as well ask for the best in those circumstances. I don't see any reason why the spirit can't move, even when the body is no longer willing or, in the King's case, unavailable. It might have looked as though I was all business, and I was working hard, but I was too busy playing to notice. I haven't seriously played the piano in decades, but the computer keyboard stands in for the ivories for me at work.

Work - oh yeah. I returned the call from the interviewer who was checking to see if I was available for another job. I liked her at the time I met her and this call confirmed that impression. I had e-mailed her when I accepted this contract just to let her know, because she had a placement for me at that time too. When I called her back today we chit chatted for a bit before getting into business issues. She wanted to know when I'd be available and said she'd get back to me in June - when this contract was inked to end. Good signs. The industry must be healthy right now and there are obviously some places where I'm a good fit. Agencies like this lady's have no shortage of applicants - I think it means my skill base has grown enough to make me a value add wherever I'm placed in the areas I specialize. I'd like to stay working with my supervisor, but I can't afford another 3 months of unemployment while new contracts are being sought. We'll see. Things happen a certain way for a reason.

Toward the end of the day today, B and D walked into the library each pushing a large cart full of data/documents. They then brought a second cartload each of data. Guess who it's for? Apparently, the team for the country whose data I'm assigned to work with have decided it's safe to let their daily use documents be cared for by me. C and I sorted everything to the shelves by location. It basically replaces all the material we've worked through so far. Guess the estimate we gave to T2 about the time to complete this assignment is no longer valid. Whether there are funds to go beyond the original contract or not is anyone's guess. Things happen a certain way for a reason. My mantra du jour.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats