Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:22 a.m. - 2003-04-24
Changes
Warm temperatures and then the rain - best of both worlds. Riding in on the train, I often sit with another woman, from a nearby community, who works at the company I'm assigned to right now. She has a son about the same age as my youngest so there is always a lot to talk about - family, home, community, and work.

We've both experienced break ins in the past few years. In both cases, it was apparent that it was someone who knew the family and who had been inside the home. In our case, it was a "friend" of one of my sons. In her case, it was a co-worker of her spouse who is a "white collar" professional. We were talking about how paranoid it makes you about trusting anyone. In her case, the robbery was done in such a way that it also felt like a threat was being made. Too bad all that negative energy couldn't be channeled into something productive. That notwithstanding I don't plan to develop a bunker mentality. Bullies succeed only because no one stands up to them. Silence actually aids and abets their behavior and makes them think it is acceptable.

At work two men standing at the door of the library - where would you like this table? Apparently, according to B, T2 decided my workspace was too aesthetically challenged.

Now bear in mind, that for the past three months, my desk, on T2's orders, has been surrounded by a wall of boxes 6 high and 2 deep. Half the desk is taken up by the computer and keyboard. I have maybe 3 square feet of useable workspace. No problem. After raising six children in a "cosy" half duplex, I can make more efficient use of small spaces than most burrowing mammals. That's how I've felt most days - buried under paper.

Apparently, the three remaining boxes in my area constitute such an eyesore that a table was ordered yesterday, so that I could place them on the table. Now, if only the workspace issue could be addressed with equal consideration. I can't append the table to my desk to gain some more space, because it would block the aisle between me and the shelves of documents.

Today I needed to amalgamate several existing files into one and discard all the duplicate material. Had to stack each set of papers across the keyboard and on top of the computer as well as use the free space on my desk, while doing the data entry to capture the contents of the newly consolidated file. Discards were being dropped beside my chair because there was no other place for them. Sometimes setting someone up to fail backfires. Hope so this time. Doesn't matter though, I 'm reminding myself why I'm working - for my sons - and that's all that matters.

Went to the chiropractor today. He's been continuing to try out some of the new techniques he learned a few weeks ago, to fix some of the damage to my pelvis that occurred about 16 years ago. You know I think he's on the right track. My pelvis used to tilt so far forward and down that it didn't matter how much I exercised, I had a good sized tummy. Everything inside just pushed against the muscles - gravity. After a few weeks, the tilt is quite a bit less and my clothes are starting to look much better. I'd like to think I'm losing weight as part of the deal, but I'm not certain. I know that my waistline has reappeared and I can now wear real waistbanded skirts instead of those half-elastic things. Everything seems looser in the upper regions too. Good thing. I've always loved wearing blazers, and I have several that look both feminine and professional at the same time. There's just been too much cleavage to make them look good, the past year or so. This is much better. The only downside is that the muscles that have to reconfigure to adapt to the change in the pelvic tilt are not happy. I usually have a reaction to the treatment about 24 hours after. Headaches and muscle pain. Oh well, this too shall pass. It's worth being able to get into my old favorite outfits.

My supervisor, A, called toward the end of the afternoon today. He's been away from the office for a week. He'd read my e-mail about tracking all the missing or altered files. We'll talk tomorrow - I feel better about things already.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats