Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:46 p.m. - 2003-04-22
Busy
Warm day today - no pantyhose required. Yes! Good thing. Got to work and the library was like a sauna. C started complaining about it the moment she walked in - amen. 6 thermostats all turned up to over 25 degrees C / 80 F. Add in the fact there are floor to ceiling windows facing south and we have the conditions of an easy bake oven. We think someone must have been in there working in their skivvies - or less - on the weekend.

I was telling C about one woman I shared an office with two assignments ago. She would crank the thermostat up to 29 C / 85 F then complain about how cold she was. This, while slathering on another layer from her deodorant stick she carried at all times, every half hour or so because of the perspiration rolling down her armpits.

Today we also had to contend with one female who must have bathed in her eau de whatever. It`s supposed to be subtle to be sexy. This stuff - one could taste it at the back of the throat it was so strong. One of my cousins is a strapping 6`4" and "buff", as they say. Blonde hair, blue eyes and he`s just a charmer. Some of the sweeties that have chased him have lost out before they even began because of the scent thing. He`s asthmatic and can`t even be in the same room with the stuff. With some of the ladies in question his remarks about it never even register. Couldn`t be their perfume. That strong and all one has is fumes.

Elections Canada responded to me today by phone and e-mail. If I`m ok with the lease - they`re ok with the lease. That`s new. If I want to override the software application and work directly on excel that`s fine too. I don`t know what happened to "we all have to do everything exactly the same way whether it makes sense or not" but I`m very happy with the change.

Went to Silly Hall at lunch to buy my maps - the ones I`ll pay for out of my own pocket. I really like working with their mapping person - R (think of the name of a song). She takes pride in her products and makes certain I get the best.

I had checked at the security desk on my way in to be sure R was still in the same place - things have a way of moving at Silly Hall when you least expect it. Found the security guard waiting for me when I got back downstairs. Uh Oh, what did I do wrong? Nothing, he just wanted to thank me for being polite to him. Poor guy. Working for the Federal government, I know what it`s like to deal with the general public, so I try to go out of my way to acknowledge someone in the same position. Must have been a tough day if a little kindness generated that strong a response.

Silly Hall is 10 city blocks from where I work these days. f you don`t catch the train on the quarter hour it`s easier -and quicker - to just walk. As luck would have it, the train was just pulling away as I got stopped at the traffic lights. Made the journey in 20 minutes including stopping to pick up some soup for lunch. Good exercise, entertaining street scenes all on a beautiful spring day - doesn`t get much better than that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats