Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:47 p.m. - 2003-04-20
Governance
Miss Kitty headed for the great outdoors for the first time last night. We didn't realize that she would jump from a window that was 10 feet off the ground. Must be that tom that keeps yowling around. Anyway she was on the front step by about 11 this morning obviously feeling quite pleased with her bad self. Just what I need - another teenager in the house.

Easter Sunday = family time. Beautiful bright day today, blue sky and warm westerly breeze. Fisherfolk, cyclists, and golfers could be seen, busy at their favorite activities on the way to and from the gathering. Went to my sister's bearing a couple of cheesecakes and some curried noodles as a side dish. Made my Dad a ham and some sweet potato pie for next week's meals as well. Dinner was wonderful and the conversation was light and happy. Eight of the boys were glued to the TV because of the hockey game - triple overtime or some such. My nieces were telling me all about the move to their new home and the pros and cons from their perspective.

Per tradition the cards came out and I spent most of the afternoon reading for the adults. I rarely read for children, including my own. At that age they are just too easily influenced as it is. I tell them it is important to think their options through and make choices based on that. Not that it's any different for adults, but by that time some discernment should have developed. If not, not much I say is going to change their behaviour anyway. Some talk about my brother's upcoming 40th birthday party (June 24)- he's not very excited about the prospect but he'll get over it.

Got home, had a nap, then went back to work on the election assignment. The most difficult part of the assignment is dealing with the way EC has set up the software that captures the stats we use to plan the door to door part of enumeration - that in the new or high mobility areas of our constituencies. We're required to work with three other databases to arrive at the numbers rather than purchasing the maps from the municipal government that would make it considerably quicker and likely more accurate. I'll try it their way for one more day, but I think I'll end up just picking up what I need out of my own pocket. Don't have time to play the intergovernmental power struggle out for them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats