Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:02 a.m. - 2003-04-03
Hiatus
Picked up a couple of books on subjects that really interest me but have nothing to do with my day persona. The first is a primer on Thai massage techniques. When I took physiotherapy, massage was one of my favorite courses and I've used it frequently as a parenting technique over time. It soothes and eases a baby or toddler so that they're calmer - with six boys that's good news. With young men, a good neck and shoulder workout helps a parent get through to a turbulent teen by calming them down as well. The Thai practices have always looked interesting and I can incorporate them with the Shiatsu, Chi Gong and reflexology techniques I've picked up over time. I can practice on Miss Kitty or maybe a son or two if I can catch them in the right frame of mind.

The other text is on Tantric Yoga the way it is practiced in India, not the Western corruption of it. Tantra was meant to acknowledge and bring into balance the feminine side of the divine. I've been caught in having to be breadwinner and protector of my family for so long working in a very type A male industry, that I really feel the loss of the feminine side of myself. Time to reclaim what comes naturally as a mom.

Things were interesting at work today. My supervisor must have done some really good work after we met Tuesday morning. The work environment wasn't so difficult. B and D have usually been really good to work with, but the pressures or agendas of T2 and C have sometimes caused problems. It was apparent this morning that they had been cautioned about their behaviour. It allows B and D to go back to being themselves. I'm a little leery about C's reaction but maybe that's just because I don't think it is easy to change one's nature further along in life.

I felt really badly about bothering A, my supervisor, about this again. I asked him how things were going for him and it was obvious he was dealing with a lot of frustration himself. It's been nearly two years since he started with the data management company. His comment was that he has done nothing but clean up the messes created by some of the other staff since he started. It has got to be tough to go to work every day just continually putting out fires for that long. During the last election that's what my job was like and after three months I was exhausted. I don't know what I can do though to make things easier for him. I try not to bother him too much but I can't always handle everything that is thrown at me in some of these work situation. The desire for money and power by whatever means available, can make people very nasty if they think you are getting in their way of taking what they want.

Anyway - bedtime, I've got to go back to lots of layers of clothes since Mother Nature is still cranky - blizzard forecast for the areas east of here - and that takes more prep time in the morning. 'Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats