Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:43 a.m. - 2003-03-24
Balance sheets
Number five son has moved back home - at least for the time being. I didn't think it would take long for his Dad to find issue with him once he was going back to school instead of earning a wage. That's the way he has always been - no taqngible benefits, no time for his sons. I'm pleased that he's home and I hope he'll stay focussed on his schooling. Number six son was really pleased too. From being born into a home with eight people, to living in one that only has two or three, seems really empty to him. He really misses his brothers, especially now that he's home schooling. If number five son chooses to stay for a while, I think all three of the boys who are here now will benefit - they need each others' unique gifts.

I send a timesheet into the data management company every two weeks. All contractors and permanent staff are on the same pay schedule. I e-mailed mine in Friday night, to meet the 8 am deadline tomorrow. Tonight, while I was working on a spreadsheet of cumulative stats, I had to check some timing in there. It was odd, but the self-calculating field, "total time", was all out of whack. None of the numbers were correct. I checked the disk I store the timesheet on, to see if it had been corrupted too. Sure enough. Went back to the e-mail attachment to see if it had also been affected. Yes it had. Good thing I decided to do some weekend work or I would never have caught it. Revamped that column and cleaned up the mess. It is true that I always carry that disk in my backpack, so I could have tried to fix it if the problem was discovered on time. However, if you don't meet the submission deadline you wait until the next pay period for your wages.

Getting paid on time is important, especially with a mortgage payment due. After the last paycheque mix up a couple of weeks ago, I really don't want that stress again. I wonder if I passed by something magnetic that might have messed up the diskette? I know I didn't go into any of the formatting options, just plugged in the numbers like I always do. Strange. Something like this happened to me two contracts ago, as well as to one of the other ladies working with me at the time. We kept our templates on separate personal drives and sent our timesheets in at different times, but somehow they were both scrambled. In that instance, we blamed it on the LAN system at that company since we couldn't come up with any other reasonable solution. Maybe templates are vulnerable to corruption after so many uses. I don't know. Anyway, I caught it and fixed it and I'll be more cautious next time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats