Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 p.m. - 2003-03-08
Homework
Even though it's the weekend it was sort of a stop and go day. Woke up first at about 3 am and did some writing. Then did the prep work so I could clean later in the day. Miss Kitty wandered up and demanded some cuddle time.

My youngest son spent a couple of days this week over at my oldest son's home. He and his partner were both on night shift so child care was a big issue, my youngest volunteered to help and I was fine with it as long as he took his school work with him. Poor Miss Kitty just didn't know what to make of it. Every time she thinks she has the house routine down pat it changes. She's needed lots of reassurance the past few days. This morning she snuggled her head up against my heart listening, while I massaged her neck and along her spine. When my guys werre little, I used to do that for them to get them to sleep. A couple of them were so high energy that I usually had to massage feet and shoulders too to get them to relax. That physiotherapy training never went to waste - it was just applied in a different venue than expected. Loud purrs let me know it is just as effective on cats as on babies and toddlers. I love cuddling so it works for me too.

Crawled back into bed at about 5:30 am just as my youngest was getting up. Handed Miss Kitty off to him and napped until 8:30. Did the housework I had prepped for earlier and read the papers for the week. One of the fellows I graduated high school with was featured on one front page. I guess he's the guy who developed Java script for computers - who'd a thunk? I remember him as a very quiet boy very much into the sciences. You know a nerd like Bill Gates. Nothing wrong with being different from the mainstream, if you are following your passion. I'm glad it has worked out well for him.

Went back to bed at about 10 and slept until number five son called around lunch. Just general chit chat catching up on what he's been up to. Got up and did more housework then settled in to watch some videos that B handed me just before she left Friday. Since there was no written record would I view them so that they could be properly catalogued next week. No problem as far as I'm concerned because of the subject matter, but as a contract/consultant should I really be taking that kind of data off-site? B said the confidentiality agreement I had with the data management firm was good enough for her. Come to think of it I have security clearance through the RCMP because of the work I do for the Federal Government, but really I don't ever think about that as an asset in my other work.

Quiet, productive day altogether - nice.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats