Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:31 a.m. - 2003-03-08
Weather watch
Colder than a well digger's a***. That's what it's been like the past week. Temps in the -20's, with bitter winds making the effect on the body closer to -30 C/ F (at -35, C and F are the same). Oh, the source of the first line? My Dad tells me that when he was working up North, the legislation was that drilling crews for oil companies could not be compelled to work if the thermometers read below - 40 F. He said the crew chiefs solved that little labour problem by breaking all the thermometers in the camps in winter. No thermometer, no day inside. The men used to know it was too cold to work when the anti-freeze froze. Brrrrrrrrr.

It's not quite that cold here, but close enough. To make things worse, the trains haven't been able to keep their heating systems working. The train either moves or has heating, take your pick. In addition, the weather seal around the doors, both on the buses and trains, has shrunk with the cold leaving a nice breeze wafting through the vehicles. This is the type of weather where passengers love it to be crowded, and if your seat mate snuggles up close - great. All the extra padding one has to wear doesn't make that too personal an experience.

Everyone is a lot more considerate in these conditions too. Standing out in this wind can freeze flesh in under a couple of minutes. People waiting for the train going in the opposite direction to you, will now stall your train's departure by standing in the door of the train if they see you running for it. That's a big issue. The trains stop only very briefly and if you're caught at a crosswalk, with the traffic lights against you, you can be assured the train will be pulling away just as you get to the doors. There is a two (south) to one (north) ratio with respect to train frequency, with the disparity increasing during rush hour. Means if I miss my northbound train to home, then I can be left standing on the platform, which is high and exposed to the elements, another 5 to 10 minutes waiting for the next one. Patience for each other and courtesy are the hallmarks of transit travellers in this weather.

I haven't reached the max in layers of clothes yet, but I do wear warm-up leggings over my stockings and under my long skirts, with two layers of camisoles under my sweaters de rigueur when dressing in the morning. I have looked longingly at my sweat pants (instead of my warmups) but I have to leave a couple of things in reserve in case the temperature drops lower yet - and yes it can, we haven't even had a proper blizzard this season. At work, I have the thermostat turned down so I don't have to do a striptease to be comfortable indoors.

I did go out for a walk at lunch today because I needed fresh air. The stuff in the buildings is poison after a while, plus I had the beginnings of a migraine. Migraines often are triggered for me by changes in the weather, when the air pressure drops or rises dramatically in a short period of time. Right now a migraine is not such a bad thing, as long as I can still see to walk. Does throw my balance off a little though, so I really have to walk carefully on the icy streets outside. About 10 to 15% of our population report similar weather-related effects on their bodies, so I'm not alone in my experiences. If it means warmer weather is on the way, it is tolerable though. That said I'm glad it's the weekend. I plan to hole up inside and appreciate the coziness of my home until Monday.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats