Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:29 a.m. - 2003-03-05
Stop and Go
A stop and start day today. My priority is supposed to be to work through boxes and boxes of particular data. But.... first, could I do a verification of the records that belong to the first scientist's project. I guess there was a realization that the PC had really messed things up. Could I assist with some urgent requests with some of the other scientists. I thought I wasn't supposed to. Some significant research required on the data in the boxes before I could proceed - necessary but it took most of the afternoon. Found some disturbing stuff in a couple of the records I pulled in the afternoon - things out of place deliberately. Just before I usually leave for home I was handed a very specific type of file. Most of the identifiers of the documents were missing and half was in a language that I don't have much technical knowledge. Se habla....(phonetic if you please). A test, maybe, to see how much I know. Just like the first assignment. Problem was, when I was working on the first test it threw the PC into attack mode. Hope no one else feels threatened.

Noon in the major mall has been interesting lately. I keep seeing people from the company where I had so much trouble. First I'll see one of the many positive people that I enjoyed working with, then I'll see one of the group of people I think were stealing. For a while, I was beginning to wonder if they were buddies with the PC, because some of the encounters seemed pretty deliberate - someone waiting at the bottom of the escalator. I need to remember to vary my travel patterns. That was something I had to do after my marriage broke up, because my ex and a couple of his buddies would follow me. One of them even managed to get themselves onto the floor where I worked. The first woman I shared an office with in the company in question alerted me to that fact when she noticed one of them following. She explained how I should take precautions. She had good reason to know what to do, although for different reasons. Funny what triggers bad memories. The encounters now are probably random, but it gives me a sense of safety anyway to remember her advice.

I had signed up for the next session of belly dancing which was supposed to start tonight at 7:30, so I stayed late at work to catch up to where I should have been in the priority data. Got to the Y at about 6:30 and had half a veggie pita for supper. Watched the swimming classes feeling like I'd like to get back in the water. I used to live in the swimming pool up until I got married - senior levels of swim training. But, unlike a lot of people, I don't think wearing a bathing suit when one is pregnant is something I'd want to do. Beached whale is not my idea of a good time.

It was difficult to get help at the front desk when it was time to change into gym strip, because the two young women attending it were more focussed on the telephone calls coming in - personal ones about a party. I had a couple of questions, but they wouldn't get off the phone long enough to listen. Went upstairs and changed. Got to the floor where my class was to be held and stretched for about half an hour, just so I wouldn't end up hobbling again. Turns out the Y administration had cancelled tonight's class, but didn't bother to let anyone know. I had called home at 5:50 to pick up my messages and there were none, nor were there any at work before I left at 6 pm. If there aren't enough people to fill a class - fair enough. But to not make any effort to let us know? I did get in a lot of exercise - half an hour walking to the Y from work toting a 45 lb backpack, half an hour stetching and then another 15 minutes walking to the train station in bitterly cold weather with said backpack again. That's all exercise I could do for free on my own time. Cost me four hours I could have spent at home - resting. Not a happy camper, me. Apparently, the class was reinstated for next week, because of a major protest by some of the other classmates. I think I'll be expressing my views in writing too - when I calm down. Oh well, things happen a certain way for a reason, I just can't see any of them right now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats