Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:48 p.m. - 2003-03-02
Moving Forward
Dreams again. I'm responsible for conducting a census in conjunction with another endeavour, but the connection doesn't really make sense. Some of the team doing the door to door work, including A - my supervisor, get involved in doing some painting as a neighbourhood enhancement. They are up on ladders under what looks like a boardwalk doing this work. Could be that they're doing it because the boardwalk is on the side of an escarpment and so, is widely visible to a lot of people walking by. It seems to be a requirement of the census taking, but it isn't a normal practice.

I started work on the Elections Canada assignment. Still haven't received the binder that is to outline all the tasks, but I had enough information to begin anyway. Talked with my number two person - she's ready and willing. I have a set of tasks I can complete tomorrow in between work times, so at least things will be moving forward. My Dad called and agreed to go out with me next weekend to look for office space. Sort of an exercise in futility, because no landlord in their right mind is going to commit to a rental that may or may not occur this year. However,at least I'll have some idea of what is not available.

I've spent a lot of time lately talking with my older sons. Just bits and pieces of family chatter. My oldest is back at the steel mill. The money is just too good to turn down, but at least he is now clear he wants to take more courses and get into accounting. He always got marks in the 90's for that in school and he loves the process, so that is a good choice for him. Number two son seems to be chugging along well. Their new home is keeping him busy. They were off to a Home and Garden show this weekend. He told me he thought "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" was a pretty good representation of what his experiences have been with his fiancees' family. He can find a lot of humour in it and it is an adventure, from his point of view. Number three son has moved into my sister's home temporarily. She and her Hubby were given a trip to Lake Havasu, so he's going to look after their two daughters for them. My little Leo has always been a natural with children and electronics; I wonder if there's a connection.

It's nice when family issues are moving well. Makes it easier to focus on putting one foot in front of the other instead just coping. My brother-in-laws' friend in the Middle East surfaced as well. His wife and children are safely out of the area. Hopefully he will be soon too. My one friend who was over there should be back in town soon too. I'm looking forward to seeing her. Positive developments.

Anyway have some e-mail and letters to write so I better get busy. Seems to be a time of more intense communication.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats