Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:28 a.m. - 2003-02-17
Chatter
Five hours of number crunching and report writing really cut into the plans I had made for today. However, I am worried enough about the communication problems arising both at the worksite I'm assigned to and with the liaison - T - from the data management company I work for, that I really had no options. If the problems aren't addressed quickly and thoroughly now, there is just too much potential for the PC to force another confrontation or crisis.

Meant though that I didn't get in the exercise I needed. I managed to twist my left knee and ankle while traipsing all over downtown with my backpack early this week. Stair climbing and yoga have been out of the question. I've gone walking every noon hour this week but weekends are a little different. I was planning to shimmy today instead, but I just sent off the reports I wrote by e-mail to my two liaisons and I have to get up early tomorrow even though it is a holiday here in Alberta - Family Day to be exact. Guess I'll try to double the dance time tomorrow.

I did manage to get some of the housework I needed to do out of the way today, but some of it will also have to wait until tomorrow. I did walk over to the grocery store to load up on supplies for my hungry young men and Miss Kitty. I have knee and ankle tensor bandages, so those went on after a liberal coating of a Chinese herbal preparation that works like a charm taking down the swelling and pain in the two joints. Scentuous by my reckoning, but other people seemed not to like the smell - oh well. The extra support was necessary, because the streets are terribly icy right now. Don't want any broken limbs right now, thank you very much.

It's interesting how running conversations can occur when one is shopping. Walking into the grocery store a woman and her daughter right on my heels. It was -13 C/9 F with a bitter wind today. Mom had just gotten off the phone with the rest of her family, who live on our west coast in Vancouver where it is spring, flowers blooming. She was cussing her ill fortune in living in Calgary. No point arguing about that, so I commiserated with her, but noted that at least she'll never have to tread water, like her relatives, when the big earthquake that's predicted for Vancouver hits. She grinned and her daughter laughed. We kept passing each other along the aisles joking back and forth. As she was leaving the store she passed me standing and waiting for a taxi - "we've got to stop meeting like this". Another young woman and I were going through the bin with yogurt on sale, she asked me about the pricing policy. We got to chatting about the flavours after she blew a raspberry when picking up the banana cream yogurt. I agreed that there was a poor marketing decision made there and we started comparing our likes and dislikes. She warned me against trying the mocha flavoured one - coffee and yogurt really don't mix. Again we chatted back and forth about different products when we passed each other in the aisles.

The other day, lunchtime, in the herbal store a similar process. I was checking one of the resource manuals looking at the side effects/contraindications listed for one supplement, noting I'd need to check that one with my doctor. Another lady nearby eagerly asking for his name. "I can't find a physician who doesn't make fun of me for using herbs." Me, as I'm paying for my purchases - "I know, it took me ten years of really looking to find this one, he's really knowledgable". She asked a little more about him obviously wondering if he would be a good fit for her needs and values. Met her and her hubby in the Plus 15's on the way back to work, I think they hurried after me once they had done their shopping. Could I spell the name of my doctor or give them a phone number or address. Sure, I had one his business cards in my purse. Said goodbye and got on the elevator to go back to work. This is a very easy-going city where strangers are concerned. As long as someone is polite, there's no reason not to shoot the breeze with them - you never know what you might learn.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats