Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:05 a.m. - 2003-02-15
TGIF
"The Lion in Winter" is on right now - Katherine Hepburn, my favorite actress, although I always loved the quiet elegance of Audrey Hepburn. Odd about the names isn't it? Or maybe not in a weird way. The parish of Bothwell Hants where my grandmother was born was part of the earldom of the first Lord Bothwell - Patrick Hepburn. Hmmmmm. I have to remember to find a copy of her autobiography - "Me". I love stories of women of strength, they help me get over the bumps. Something my friend L and I were talking about last night. Neither of us have much use for the so-called high maintenance models, that give the average woman another negative stereotype to overcome.

Today,well up and down. Another terse memo from the same VP of the data management company trying to quell rumours of the company's imminent collapse. Some one seems to be making a very concerted effort to cause harm. Forwarded the series of memos to M, my co-worker, who isn't in the e-mail loop right now.

Spent the morning amalgamating records from a number of companies merged into this one. Required the use of headphones to concentrate because of the noise in the library. It's an odd thing, but in any of the assignments I've had, the individual(s) who really objected to me sealing them off with music, were the ones who were doing something they weren't supposed to. Maybe that's because they need to create a verbal illusion that is the tool they then use to manipulate other staff's perceptions of what is happening. One person outside the illusion and they risk the Emperor's New Clothes syndrome. The PC hates the fact I use headphones. It appeared she complained about it this morning, but I don't need any more interruptions.

After lunch I showed D the work I'd done in the morning just to be certain I hadn't stepped on toes again. He was really pleased and said that he was trying to figure out the system himself. We got into a discussion about some of the technicalities; the PC leaving her office to stand nearby when she saw us talking, not doing any work but glowering the whole time. This task is something I've done since I started working ten years ago, so it's something that I have a great deal of confidence doing.

When I was recording the data and setting up the keyword searches, I came across something disturbing though. It was like the last assignment, where someone had altered the inventories for the offsite documents so that certain properties "disappeared" unless one knew what had been done. Showed D. He was very concerned, the PC again following him into the library, slammed something heavy down and departed quickly.

At about 4 pm, the liaison from the data mangement company called - she'd just read the e-mail I sent three days ago. Could we get together next week to talk? Yes fine. She then called back five minutes later. Could I describe in detail what is happening - no the PC just happens to be standing right behind me. The PC rushes off to pull D into the library saying to him "see I told you" - don't know what that means. In the meantime the liaison is still on the line telling me that she has called and left a message for B asking for a meeting to discuss my workload. Why?? "Well, isn't that the problem?" NO!! Could I explain what is then?? "It's in the two e-mails I've sent you and that we discussed the other day." Well could you write a report and do a statistical analysis, right now because I've got one of the project managers in my office waiting for it. I can't wait until Monday. "No because: the PC is standing right behind me, I can't do this on the company I consult to's time and I certainly don't want to use their e-mail system with this information, and finally, it will take at least a couple of hours or more to pull together everything you just asked for and write it up. It's 4:30 Friday night and I'm going home now. However, I will work on it this weekend and send it to you at home since you don't want to wait until Monday" (a holiday here but oh well).

Miss Kitty was very understanding when I got home. She curled up in my lap purring and licking my face. It's true - cat's tongues are like sandpaper. Cuddling with my guys when they were little was always the greatest comfort I had and I always felt regenerated as a result. Ups and Downs.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats