Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:34 a.m. - 2003-02-11
Change Order
Well, things just keep getting more interesting at work. Toward the end of the day today, B came by to let me know she would not be in for the balance of the week. Part of it is because of a course she signed up for, before she knew I would be coming on board. This company pays for their employees' up-grading - which is terrific - but they expect the employee to keep their part of the bargain by following through. No excuses and rightfully so. The other reason she will be absent, is that both of her daughters are now quite ill. She came in this morning looking exhausted. She will be staying home with them when she is not on course. Not a problem as far as the actual work goes. Except of course, her boss and her boss's boss are both away for the balance of this week and next. Who's in charge? Well, we each have our own assignments. As long as everyone is respectful of that, there should be no problems.

One of B's major tasks is looking after the scientists' needs for information. That means both retrieval and research. The demand was intense today, so I helped out where I could. I've done that type of work in a lot of different companies and I really enjoy it - especially the research , yum. I don't think it would be possible or appropriate for me to tell one of the scientists that they will have to wait for a week or more for their data - they have some pretty inflexible deadlines to meet at times too. If I have to pick up some of the slack, that will impact my ability to get my primary assignments completed.

I fired off an e-mail to the new supervisor from the data management company to explain the situation and, hopefully, to gain some protection should the one consultant decide to try to intervene in my assignments or should questions be raised about the volume of work I complete, with the additional duties thrown in. Problem is that the new supervisor is still not responding to very basic enquiries I've asked her, such as when is the date for filing my timesheet. In this company that is very strictly regulated and one doesn't get paid if there is a mix up. This morning I was still waiting to hear for sure. K e-mailed me -after I emailed her Friday since I still had no response from T - responding that it was due by 2:30 today. Lucky I keep it up-to-date and on disk and had it with me, hmmmmmm. It's also lucky that the company allows staff to use their own disks at work. There are so many computer viruses now, that many companies don't anymore to reduce the risk to their systems. Can't blame them. Just a little bit of frustration. Oh well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats