Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:14 a.m. - 2003-02-07
Pendulums
Well the meeting at the data management company this morning was interesting. The firm it is merging with is equal in size and income. It has been on a takeover binge the past year to account for its growth. Offices in the US and overseas all departments specializing in software applications specific to data management and also tailored to the industry I work in. I've used their software before and I love it for its flexibility. Second specialization is as a brokerage firm. The new company is in the process of becoming publicly traded and all full time staff will get stock options as soon as that is accomplished. No layoffs at the field level. That's the upside.

The downside is that there is still a shoe or two to drop. The VP who left the company brought her sister in to the company a while back. It was very obvious she was very unhappy today. In addition, a lot of the field staff are personal friends with that VP. I think there may be some more personnel upheavals - it was hinted at a little in the company president's talk. Another indicator might be from my own supervisor - A. At the end of the meeting he asked if he could call me at home tonight to help him put the finishing touches on his report on the last contract I worked on. Sure - I'd like to weigh in on that. There was a regular staff meeting right after we field people were brought up to speed. I'm guessing that something may have occurred then, that he doesn't want talk about yet, because there was no call from him tonight. That is fine as long as he isn't leaving the company. I still didn't get to sign the new contract I should have - even though B said that she had mailed it herself - so if he changes companies, I'll probably continue sending out resumes. Maybe the other changes will be good, I think they will, but if the company isn't astute enough to hang onto someone who is exceptional as a manager and administrator, it raises the question of how well they will make good decisions in other areas.

Anyway back at my new contract, the team there gave me about an hour to settle in then came full of questions. In this industry every change or merger generally has ripple effects throughout- everyone is affected either directly or indirectly. Everyone was curious to know the details. A lot of them knew the VP that left, so I'm certain my comments will filter back to her. I made it clear that no one felt good about her departure. Maybe she can find some comfort in that. In other companies that I've worked in, it is customary for staff to not communicate with someone being "surplused" whatever the reason. I think that is too hard on everyone. In cases where I have known and enjoyed someone's company, I try to communicate that to them in some way - it's a hard enough knock to end a job without losing all the positive relationships one has formed over time.

Did the stair climb with Miss Kitty tonight. My youngest son created a new toy for her that just makes her wild. One of my sister's sisters-in-law (follow that?) doesn't have any children. Her cat(s) are her babies. She very kindly sent over some surplus toys and cat furnishings for our new baby. Among them were several balls of varying materials but - oh bliss - each has a bell enclosed within. Miss Kitty adores them. So my son took her favorite - the red one - and put it inside one of our heavy duty suede winter gloves - priorities you know - then tied that up tight with ribbons. She likes to imbed her claws into the glove and wrap herself around it. The boys will lift her into the air and carry her that way. She thinks it's a wonderful ride. Now I can manage the pounce and release chase up and down the stairs, but weight lifting too? I walked about eight city blocks with my 45 lb backpack on my back this am, after the meeting. to get back to my worksite. My calves, ilio-tibial muscle group, and my butt were all very much letting me know I'm not there yet strengthwise. Carrying Miss Kitty up and down stairs on a swinging pendulum was not something I was prepared to do. Oh well we all have our flaws.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats