Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:55 p.m. - 2003-02-05
Wry Curse
Well, today was certainly interesting in a wry sort of way. Last night when I went to bed it was warm, relatively speaking, and there was very little snow left anywhere. This morning I stepped outside into ankle deep snow, with a bitter wind blowing. Although it's counterintuitive, I had to hike my skirt nearly up to my knees so that it wouldn't become a snow magnet. All that white stuff clinging and melting while on the train and the bus would make me look like a drowned waif and I'd end up spending a lot of the morning shivering while drip drying.

B was at the office when I arrived. Her daughter was being tested for mononucleosis yesterday. The rest of the family needs to be monitored too. I explained how long it would likely be before her daughter, who is in grade 11, would be able to cope full time back at school based on the experiences of numbers three, and six sons in addition to myself with the same illness. I'd think probably three months before complete school days were possible. I offered to give her the information I had on distance learning - the program number six son is in - if the diagnosis is confirmed.

I asked her about the issues the pesty consultant created for me yesterday. I didn't say anything negative - just explained that I was confused about the change in the directions and concerned about the risk of loss of data and the compromise to the integrity of the system. She was most concerned about the fact that anyone had gone into those boxes. As I thought, they were off limits. Satisfied with the discussion, I returned to my station, shot an e-mail off to my supervisors letting them know that everything was ok, I'd made the right judgement calls yesterday - thanks for the support - and went to work. Put my headphones on because it was noisy on the floor.

About an hour later, I realized that I could hear shouting, even with the music turned up full blast. I know - bad girl. When it continued for some time without a break, I turned down the sound and realised that the voices were those of B, the pesty consultant, and, I think, the lone male consultant on the team. It should be noted that the pesty consultant is very loud by nature and very firm in her opinions and statements. However, the other two are fairly soft spoken - that's why it caught my attention. I heard Ms. PC say, in stentorian tones, "I was just using my best judgement and you should respect that or accept that" This was repeated several times - each time more loudly. I don't know if the debate was about the issue with the project I was working on or something else - I just turned the music back up and tuned it out. All I want is to be able to do my assignments well, without interference. By lunch it was very quiet.

I went out at lunch to try and find the connecting route through the Plus 15 corridors, that link most of the buildings downtown, so I could get from the meeting tomorrow in the data management's central office back to my work since this end of the route is new to me. It would be faster and drier, since more snow is due tomorrow.

Bumped in to a lawyer I had worked for about six years ago - just word-processing the contracts he drafted, writing some of his letters - that sort of thing. He had a 3 person practice and I loved being there when there were no clients. The three of them would sit and debate all the aspects of a case that one was working on - fascinating and scary at the same time. The mental acrobatics were as breath-taking as anything you'd see in the Olympics. I left working there when an election was called. I didn't want to go back because one of the lawyers was quite volatile at the time, and I just couldn't cope with the verbal fireworks so shortly after getting out such a bad marriage. My problem not his. Anyway, he had helped Monier Rahall with his book "Banksters and Prairie Boys" - which was an exposé of government corruption - that's how I learned about it. Apparently, another book is due out shortly. I can't wait.

Returned to find an e-mail from the data management company announcing their merger with a similar outfit. The words "efficiencies" and "shareholders" in the same sentence usually implies staff cuts. That explains last weeks' news of a VP leaving and means tomorrow's meeting could be quite instructive - to say the least.

Got back to the office - more shouting. This time a group of about 6 males who don't belong on the floor. One seemed to be on the hot seat and an all out scrum lasted the rest of the afternoon. They were right next door to the pesty consultant's office and it was apparent she was quite upset about either that or something else. Put my headphones on and continued working. B came by an hour later to check my analysis of the documents in my project, at my request. I'd just as soon know if I'm missing the boat on something early on in the process - less deep water to swim out of that way. Everything was fine. Showed her the e-mail about the merger. She asked if I had ever wanted to settle in one job rather than contracting. That's a hard one to answer. We talked about both our experiences in this industry for a while - she's been in it for nearly 20 years.

Went back to work with my headphones firmly in place. An end of the day an e-mail from the company I'm consulting to. All staff, including contractors, are required to take a half day course on business ethics. Words like "the ends don't justify the means" in the thumbnail sketch of the seminar. That's why I wanted to work in this company - they actually walk their talk. Can't wait to go. Packed up at 5 pm and caught the train home. Too much excitement for one day - I think I need a nap.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats