Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:02 a.m. - 2003-01-09
R-E-S-P-E-C-T
I spent part of today teaching. One of the other Returning Officers, N, in this city doesn't have a lot of background or experience with computers. She can turn it on, word-process a simple document like a letter or memo, and open and send e-mail comfortably. With the kind of tasks we are assigned, that simply isn't enough.

During the last election I ended up mentoring, and advising her and a couple of other first time Returning Officers in our province, because there really wasn't any place else for them to turn. The head office is so overwhelmed and under-staffed during an election that a turn around response time of a day or ten isn't unusual. Because of the legislation, we don't have the luxury of that kind of time - our deadlines are set in stone. In fact, one Returning Officer in the last election became so frustrated with the lack of support, after head office had created a commercial that had the public in an uproar of anger and fear, combined with the overwhelming demands that are a regular part of the job, that he simply disconnected all his phone lines.

Anyway, failure to meet legislated deadlines is grounds for forcing a by-election - very expensive for taxpayers. Therefore, that meant that they - the new Returning Officers which happened to be about 60% of our group - were expected to fall back on their whole five days training on all the aspects legal,logistical, and administrative that are required for the job. I had 14 years of electoral experience when I received this appointment is 1996, but most of the new comers have very little background in administering elections, so they have no other experience from which to draw. If I can get anyone else to the point where they are more able to cope, prior to being thrown to the public, the parties, and the media for breakfast fare, then it helps us all.

N and I have known each other for a decade or so, because our paths often crossed or united on a variety of volunteer projects. I enjoy her a great deal because we are so different. I always see that type of relationship as an opportunity to learn more about my strengths and weaknesses and to build better interpersonal skills. The more one understands about someone who sees and interacts with the world differently than you, the more chance you have of finding common ground on which you can both stand and build a community that is inclusive.

N is very out-going and brash. She believes very firmly that if you join a group, then you follow the leader without question, although of course, one fights very hard to become part of an inner circle that makes the decisions. Loyalty to that group, regardless of their impact on "outsiders", must be absolute. I'm task oriented and I work with whoever else also has the same goals, but I always think for myself because I have certain core values that I am absolutely loyal to regardless of what anyone else may choose. For example, my faith dictates non-violence be it physical, emotional, psychological, or spiritual - no "except fors" allowed. That demands adherence over and above loyalty to any person or group who engages in any form of force. My role models are Aung San Suu Kyi, the Dalai Lama, Mohandas Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr, and Mother Teresa. If they can deal with the overwhelming odds and terrible burdens of responsibility that they have been given, then how can I do less with my much smaller challenges. Truth is, I can't live with myself if I don't abide by my values because they underpins every choice or decision I make. One of the things that has helped most was learning that Mother Teresa had many crises of faith and often struggled with herself; I do too, but I guess that's ok. For N, if any of the groups she is loyal to feels threatened, then whatever means is necessary to protect that group is acceptable. Survival of her preferred social structure or hierarchy is a core value to her. So, when we work together, we have to agree to focus on those actions that get us to our goal without violating either of our core values. Sometimes that can require a lot of negotiating and sometimes we just have to agree to disagree and go our separate ways. We like and respect each other enough as human beings though, that we don't penalize the other for that separateness or difference. In some cases, that respect has been the most important tool in finally achieving something positive, even if neither of our original aims were met.

Fortunately, that wasn't an issue today. We were also united on the value of thinking our cats are purrfect. She laughed at the stories of my new baby, while sharing her experiences/knowledge with her tabby and tom while her hubby cooked a marvellous gourmet meal for us. It was a fun day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats