Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:18 a.m. - 2002-12-27
Drums in the Deep
Went to bed at 11 pm Christmas Day. That's way early for me but the little speed bumps of the past two days and that yummy glass of plum wine "done tuckered me out". I awoke at about 1:30 am to "drums, drums in the deep" (Fellowship of the Ring - mines of Moria).

The source? My home is the west half of a side-by-side duplex, co-owned by me and the bank. The other half of the duplex is being rented out by it's owner. I've always thought there was some slightly mischievious spirit living there first, who has a penchant for attracting residents of a somewhat unusual nature - most of whom only remain for half a year then move on. I haven't quite figured out the composition of the current tenants. Seem to be all males ages mid-teen to middle age. Generally good - as in quiet and tidy - except that their evening schedule is even odder than mine. The younger men (about four regulars, I think) quite often will be out in the park across the street between one and four in the morning quietly playing soccer or football. If it's too cool they play some kind of ball game in the basement - we can tell from the rebounds off the shared wall. No big deal - we're night owls too. Occasionally, when the older male hasn't been in evidence they have partied - til 4 in the am - which is a little too much. A little discussion about that behavior seemed to have cooled that off. But now, one of the younger fellows appears to have been given a set of real drums for Christmas. And you know what? He is really good - especially with a back beat. But not at 2 to 4 in the am, in his basement, at a level that makes our side of the home reverberate with the rhythm. Today he practiced all afternoon, so hopefully we won't have the concert again tonight. Wonder if he'd like to listen to some Buddy Rich, Gene Krupa, or Ginger Baker.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats