Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 a.m. - 2002-12-25
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve. It's always been one of my favorite times.

One of number three son's friends flew back into town this weekend. They've been good buddies since they first met. When I worked on community committees as a volunteer, it was standard practice for every mom to bring any child not yet in regular school with them. Reasons? We were all broke - no babysitting funds, it was a good way for the little guys to learn social behavior - "no Joey you can't bean Jimmy with your truck even if you don't like his name" - and besides that we spent so much time working together on projects that we wouldn't have had a lot of time to spend with our little ones otherwise. They met then and from kindergarten to graduation they were best friends. He moved to Vancouver about four years ago with his girlfriend. The relationship didn't last, but his love of the left coast has. He popped over to see me yesterday and we had a good visit. Each of the boys has at least one friend I consider a child by adoption and it is always nice when they can find the time to drop in and share their adventures with me. Besides that, it makes my sons nervous - what are they talking about?

No snow yet, but a crisp white frost covering the ground this morning. Made a satisfying crunching sound under my runners as I ran a bunch of last minute errands. Bumped into one of the Moms of one of number one and two sons' classmates in the dollar store (stocking stuffers). Both her daughters are doing well, both working in the banking industry. We compared notes, caught up on the past year, and then went on our way. Networking. Never know when a particular meeting will play out into something else. We often worked on volunteer projects together - maybe something new is coming up; health care issues would be an appropriate fit.

Last stop was the grocery store. I was tempted to pick up the new Phil Collins CD sitting right by the till for me - my budget would just cover it and I've been good - but decided the money would be better spent on a food bank package that the store offers then delivers to one of the homeless shelters. I think Mr. Collins will likely have a fine Christmas, but there are a lot of homeless families in this city that won't. My budget is tight but I'm still lucky in comparison to a lot of other people in this city. It is something I do at least once a month and it was satisfying to have it be my last purchase before Christmas Day. Reminded me what we are celebrating - the birth of a poor, homeless child. La plus ca change, la plus ca meme. We haven't learned much have we?

Our tree was decorated slowly over the past two days. Great art takes time you know. Miss Kitty received her own special balls to chase around the floor as we placed the rest of the decorations on the tree. Most of what I have now is decorations that look like stained glass or spun glass figurines. With the tree lights and the garlands behind them, they look luminous. In years past, with six little boys I don't know how many dozens of the silk wrapped balls we went through, but they always looked nice and colourful, yet it wasn't a great tragedy if a few fell victim to some accident each year because the price was so reasonable. They've mostly disappeared now, except for the ones Miss Kitty inherited. The balance of the decorations then, were whatever my guys had made in class that year. The tree always looked "artful". Couldn't find that box of treasures anywhere this year - maybe one of my young men hid it. The finishing touch is always the creche nestled in white and red felt underneath the tree.

My guys are at their Dad's family's gathering right now. I'm going to light all my candles, put on some music, and tend to my baking. The other night when the boys came home from helping their brother move into his new place I was shimmying and working with a veil to Sting's "Desert Rose" and The Tea Party's "Transmission"- it was dark, no lights on in the house so I didn't disturb any of the neighbours - even so it disturbed them mightily, so I might just have to do it again. Never let your children take it for granted that they know everything about you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats