Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:57 p.m. - 2002-12-21
Preparation
The invoice I sent to Elections Canada was paid yesterday. Means I have enough money now to cover expenses to the middle of January and even have a little bit left over for gifts. Another plus was that I realized I had already picked up some small things over the past few months as I'd found what I wanted on sale, so I also have enough parcels to cover the gift taking at my Dad's home. My sibs and their families - about 30 people - have widely varying incomes, so we do what is called a Ukrainian Christmas exchange, which is financially much easier for everyone. Essentially, one wrapped package is brought for each person in your family, each with a value of no more than x dollars. On Christmas Day, everything is stacked on the pool table and lots are drawn. In order of each lot, people pick the package that is most appealing to them. They can either keep it or "trade" it with someone who has already chosen their gift. It's a very relaxed way to celebrate the day. We each bring predetermined dishes, just as at Thanksgiving, and the afternoon features a very generous buffet. My guys spend Christmas Eve with their Dad's family, so they can nosh to their heart's content for a couple of days.

My Dad and I went and picked up a tree for me today - nice white pine grown in the British Columbian forests. I picked up some extra ingredients for my baking and the gifts I had decided I could afford for the boys. I already had my Dad's gift. Then we went for a bowl of clam chowder. Dad gave me some money to put in my bank account if I need it. I didn't really want to take it unless I had no other choice, but he said it would make him more comfortable and it does really reduce some of the stress I've been feeling. Hopefully by mid-January the Employment Insurance thing will be straightened out and I can just hand it back to him. Other than my mortgage, I don't want any other debts.

Better yet would be some good news with respect to the job searches I've done. I know I've done as much as I can, but the dead space while waiting is difficult to deal with. I did get a letter from Elections Canada alerting all Returning Officers that the next phase of our pre-election assignment will likely start in April, so that is some good news. There are still some layoffs happening in the city, but now they are in companies that were already in hot water either financially or legally. The Federal Government seems to have been able to assure the oil companies that the Kyoto Protocol is not going to harm their cash flow too much by setting a cap on the levies per tonne of greenhouse emissions for industrial entities. The proof of the increase in confidence, is in the fact that several of the companies have accelerated their winter drilling program and are drawing down funds from their first quarter budgets to achieve that. Hiring should follow in January and that will stimulate the economy in the city in a lot of different ways. There is still some caution but that has to do with the Middle East situation. Very few people here support the prospect of war - it is seen as a regressive step where stopping terrorists is concerned.

Our lady, the cat, has settled into a routine. She is still very playful and has spent the past while creating all the toys she can. One of her favorites is the set of wind chimes that hang in my bedroom window. She realized that if she pulls the curtains back and forth, she can make her own music. She has adopted a couple of my son's stuffed cats as her own and they are her cuddle buddies. When I exercise by climbing up and down the stairs from my front door landing (six down to the basement, seven up to the living room), she takes the opportunity to play "ambush the human" by attacking through the railing or from behind the bookcase as I pass them. While she's waiting for me she'll attack one of the hanging planters, the spider plants, or the marionette that are in the entry way. She thinks giant lego are a wonderful invention.

We've had to have a discussion about who's bed is in my room. Last night I woke up at about 4 am to find her stalking phantom mice across my comforter. When she realized I was awake, she tried to insist I join her in the hunt. Her response when I crawled deeper under the covers was to dig her claws through the bedding to try to motivate me to move. She lapsed into muttering and huffing when I wouldn't budge. Now, since I've been on my own, one half of my bed is covered with books and sometimes work paperwork. I don't always sleep through the night, so I keep stuff in easy reach for my own entertainment - there's a bookshelf just off to the other side too. She started knocking my books off that half of my bed to make herself comfortable. I made up a nice bed for her complete with an old blanket and pillow as soon as I knew she was joining us. I'm not sharing mine.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats