Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:42 a.m. - 2002-12-09
Close Encounters
Quiet day today - good thing. I think I may have caught the flu on my travels yesterday. Didn't help that a ruckus erupted in the home west of mine about 4 am this morning and didn't stop until after 8 am. The family living there now are the third owners since it was built 24 years ago. They moved in about 18 years ago. The police know them well. I try to keep things quiet between us because the males are quite nasty. However, they know I'm not shy about standing my ground when they push too far. This time it seemed to be a dispute between the oldest male and one of the teens. Can't blame the kids really for acting out - look what they have for role models. The problem is, if they aren't brought to account the cycle just repeats itself. I sat and listened until it felt safe to go back to bed, phone in hand. They seem to have worked it out late this afternoon. You know, I've spent my fair share of time in hospital nurseries. Never seen a baby yet that one could point to and say - yeah they're going to be trouble. Some people should just never have children. Funny thing though isn't it - some children seem to be able to rise above their childhood experiences and become leaders in their own right and among their own peers. I wonder what it is about them that gives them the strength and the inner moral compass that obviously doesn't exist in their early environment. Never give up on a child.

My youngest asked me to read the second book of Lord of the Rings out loud - I guess in preparation for the movie. By now he should be able to quote sections, but I enjoy Tolkiens' work. It is meant to be read aloud - comes trippingly to the tongue, to quote another great writer. Ms. Bunny seems to enjoy the experience too. She hops close by, settles comfortably on the floor, and stays put until I'm done. Decided she'd crawl into my lap at one point this evening and cuddle. Fine with me, cuddling with my guys when they were small was one of my favorite pastimes, but once they hit school it just wasn't "manly" you know. Ms Bunny won't likely ever be subjected to peer pressure, so she won't know she's being a "baby".

"Close Encounters of the Third Kind" was on the tube tonight and we watched it. I'd forgotten it's effect on me. Seems to have the same fascination for some of my guys too.

Time for bed though - hope it stays quiet through the night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats