Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:30 a.m. - 2002-12-07
Air
Just bits and pieces tonight.

My Mom's cousin in Northern Australia e-mailed about the eclipse. He said that the clouds parted just in time to see the main event, then blocked out everything again. He says it's hot enough that their swimming pool is more like a sauna bath right now - poor dear.

Odd thing happened when I was working with my yoga tape the other day. I was following along doing the ujjayi breathing. My lungs had just filled up, as I moved into another posture, when all of a sudden it was as if someone had inserted a suction pump into the chest cavity. My lungs stayed full of air - which was comforting - but it felt as though the muscle shaped like the head of a drum, called the diaphragm, that separates the chest cavity from the abdominal (peritoneal) cavity shifted position. That isn't all that likely since it is attached to the bottom of the rib cage, but the unexpected movement of air around the lungs was very disconcerting. When it stopped, I actually felt better and could breathe a lot deeper than I have in a long time. My chiropractor wondered aloud if it could be that some adhesions, perhaps created during one of my bouts with pneumonia, had released. He might be right. I do have more movement in the lumbar (waist) region now and I can stand taller more easily. Exercises which require one to rotate at the waist have a greater range of motion for me now too. Progress.

It's still quite warm here given the time of year. Looking outside tonight the sky was filled with stars. Very pretty but it's late and I think I'm going to bed. Out shopping with my Dad in a few hours.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats