Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:09 a.m. - 2002-12-02
And so Goodnight
Finished my maps tonight - demographics tomorrow; maybe the citys' website will be up and running by then. I watched a folk music special on PBS as well as White Christmas while I was labouring away. Ms Honey Bunny was happily exploring her new territory throughout. She's doing fine.

I rarely watch TV except for the news and the occasional movie, but the special had all my favorite folk singers and songs - the ones that were the mainstay of the choirs I sang in when I was growing up. There were the Limelighters, Peter, Paul, and Mary, and clips from performances from people like the Smothers Brothers (no one like them is there?). Barry McGuire sang a new version of Eve of Destruction and the whole cast sang a new song called "Just Americans" about September 11 - a lot of teary eyes in the audience. White Christmas? Well it's a tradition and I enjoy the dance numbers. I love the dress that Vera Ellen wears in her first dance number with Danny Kaye - I always wanted one like that. Funny, in the newspaper today one of the fashion articles was noting the number one accessory this season was cleavage because it is so openly a sign of the feminine. Maybe the clothes from the late '40's are going to be in style again - who knows.

It's raining right now. The air smells sweet and fresh. There were pictures of people biking, golfing, and playing frisbee in the park in the newspaper. On the news tonight it mentioned the residents of Alaska were out water-skiing. We'll pay for it at some point in time, it always balances out, but for now it's just a time to savour the extra warm days.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats