Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:27 a.m. - 2002-11-27
Little Red Hen
It was a beautiful day today - and no I'm not smoking anything. This is the end of November and it was raining. The air smelt fresh, the streets looked clean, and there is green grass. The forecast is for more of the same through the weekend - golfers should be ecstatic. No big deal I guess, if one lives closer to the equator, but this is Calgary. I can recall winters where the temperature dropped to -30 C/F at the beginning of this month and stayed that way until February. I can also recall thunderflurries (thundershowers except that one sees snow instead of rain) with fabulous lightning displays in December. I realize El Nino is not everyone's friend, but I recall the last visit he paid us meant a pretty mild, short winter too. Seems to me it might have been in 1987 - 1988 during the Winter Olympics; I remember the organizers panicking because there wasn't any snow.

We seem to have hit a nice calm spell in family affairs too - touch wood. Number one son says he is really busy at his new job and he is enjoying the challenge. When he was small I gave him a book on sculpting in different media for Christmas, because it was an interest then. It's nice to see it evolve into real time. Number two son's home isn't quite ready yet, but they're hoping maybe mid-December. In the interim, the City approved some amendments to their plan - such as a hot tub in the yard - which is part of the reason for the delay. Number three son seems content at work and is actually building a bank account for school now. Number four son got a good raise after about six weeks on the job. He seems to be seeing two or three young ladies now - I'm relieved. Number five son is still working full time at the restaurant until he is approved for the college program. Number six son is doing really well with his schooling at home - I check his homework. Glad I paid attention in class.

Sometimes the most difficult part of parenting is knowing that your children are works in progress and that one might not see the results for - oh - twenty or forty years. It helps to see little signs of progress every once in a while.

Some days its just nice to count your blessings.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats