Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:02 a.m. - 2002-10-18
Strange Dreams
Odd days - yesterday and today.

When I called into the data management company yesterday to find out what the protocol was when work is completed in a client's office, I got an odd reaction. The senior staff were already aware that this was going to happen because my co-worker, who is a permanent staffer who usually works in the main office, had told them last week to expect her back on Wednesday. Had she misrepresented what was occurring when she spoke with them? Perhaps part of the problem is that I am not willing to be at a work site if there is no more substantial work to do even if it means I am not drawing a paycheck. Maybe other contract staff just keep showing up until someone shows them the door. For me,it is just too unprofessional to sit around doing nothing. In addition, I had already spoken with my supervisor about some time off when this assignment was completed; he left knowing I would be content to spend some time at home. All I wanted was just confirmation and some direction with respect to how to close things out. When I spoke with K, her immediate response was "I don't do staffing placements" - so when did I ask? Maybe there was an assumption that the liaison from the company we were working in would find some of the missing documents and enough work would be on tap to keep us going. No one had contacted me to provide any guidance even though they had been advised yet, as a consultant, I don't have the authority to terminate a contract on their behalf. My supervisor is out of town, but it seems rather strange that no procedures are in place to cover when a senior manager is unavailable. What if someone was hit by a bus? I never did get a straight answer.

I woke up this morning at about 5 am although I'm not sure why. Realized the power for the whole community had been out for a while, so I went by moonlight and found my wrist watch, dug out my stash of candles and matches then went back to sleep. The blessing, of course, is that the furnace wasn't a necessity. Usually when the power goes out, it is well below zero and keeping warm is the first major task to address. Going back to sleep isn't an option in those cases, because of the dangers of hypothermia or carbon monoxide poisoning - good way to wake up dead. Anyway, I woke at 7 am and the power had been restored. No word on the news as to why. Normally severe winter/ice storms are the culprits, but we have had beautiful fall weather the past week.

Opened up my e-mail when I was mobile and found notes from my two friends/co-volunteers who are in the Middle East with their hubbies. Both sounded quite afraid. Neither of them are alarmists - quite the contrary. I spent some time writing what I could to give them comfort, but neither of them spoke directly about what had triggered their fears. They are about 200 miles apart from each other, they both work and they both are very active in their free time so I don't think each knew the other was writing. It's troubling to say the least.

Popped in to see my regular doctor - the one dealing with the heart damage that resulted from an allergic reaction I had to some antibiotics in January. We agreed I don't need the one medication any more (I hadn't been taking it for several months anyway)and the dosage for the other one was cut to the minimum available - yes! He made a point of letting me know he is setting up his own practice/clinic and will have a number of other doctors working for him. He wanted to be certain I would continue coming to him for care. In Calgary, there is such a shortage of doctors because of the rapid population growth, that many people can't find a family doctor who will take them on. Given that I'm not really a "good" patient - I don't agree with a lot of what the College of Physicians and Surgeons have set up as treatment protocols and I won't follow them - I'm a bit surprised. I know my doctor came under a lot of pressure to force me to conform so I'm not certain why he would want the liability. Maybe he likes the challenge.

Anyway sort of an odd 24 hours. The planet Neptune in astrology represents hopes, dreams, creativity, and illusions/deceptions. It has been travelling "backwards" since the spring. Maybe when it begins moving forward this weekend some of this weird stuff will make a little more sense. Maybe not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats