Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:07 a.m. - 2002-10-16
Random Thoughts
The contract I have been working on is basically completed. The conversion of all their documents from the project that is their major source of income to electronic form has met with great success. I created two spreadsheets - one to list all the properties they should have files for and don't and one that lists all the properties that should have immediate attention focussed on them because of significant problems- it was substantial too. It has caused some consternation, to say the least. The staff who should be investigating the loss of so much data and those who need to take responsibility for work they didn't do aren't happy with these spreadsheets at all.

Anyway, my supervisor has been out of town for one week and won't be back until the 21st. The liaison hasn't responded to his long distance calls about work for us to complete during this week, so I think I'm basically off work until he returns. I wouldn't mind, except it would be nice to have someone confirm that, so I could plan my free time. In addition, my co-worker is still acting strangely and it has made me very uncomfortable. She did say that she had received a communication that really upset her - hurt her feelings - but that's not my fault and it shouldn't affect work issues. I'm probably being paranoid because communication has been so spotty and disrupted, but there are just too many unknowns and it feels like information is being witheld. Sometimes it's very tempting to start putting out resumes just to see what else is out there. Maybe it's time for that now. I'm a bit frustrated.

On the home front:

The Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra just declared bankruptcy and fired all its musicians after just holding a season ticket sale that gained 800 new patrons. Difficult to know how that will turn out. It's sad when both the major hockey and football teams in our city have major sponsorship and ticket sales that pay wages for some single players many times that of the whole payroll of the CPO. No angels in sight.

There was an explosion of a power transformer in the downtown core. This is the third in the past three months. There is never any follow up information or news coverage with respect to the investigation of the cause. Add in the shut down of the city's water purification plant for nearly the whole month of July because of an "incident" and it does set one's mind wondering what is going on.

I received a paper from the university today that is part of the follow up to the workshop I attended about resource law and social justice. This one focusses on corporate social responsibility - what a business should be responsible for in the community within which it operates. It is quite a substantial document with a lot of interesting reference material cited. I've only read it once, so I will have to spend some time following up on the leads and thinking about what has been said.

It was interesting that there was also an editorial piece by David Barss in today's newspaper (www.calgaryherald.com) that raised and addressed the concerns I had expressed about the context of the debate on climate change - i.e. sunspot cycles. The writer is a scientist who specializes in geology.

Just random bits and pieces but that's how the day went.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats