Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 p.m. - 2002-10-12
Meeting of the Minds
Two meetings of note this week - one for work and one set of parent teacher interviews.

I met with my youngest son's teachers/vice principal for the first term report. I've noted before that he was subjected to some fairly violent bullying in junior high and finds being in a school setting very difficult as a result. He is doing better in the new facility because it is quite different,there are none of the students who were the problem in the building, and he has made some new friends. However, he still finds going into class every day a bit of a challenge. The gist of the meetings was how to help him feel safe. The upside is that he is bright enough so that even with missing class time, he is still pulling off acceptable marks. They aren't anywhere near what he is capable of based on their testing or my knowledge of his abilities, but they are enough to pass. His teachers and the VP seem to genuinely like him and that is great too. The principal from his Junior High is still keeping involved as well. Over time, I think he will settle well into this school given the support and understanding he has received. I am always impressed and grateful for the care and dedication the majority of teachers show for their students. My guys have had some outstanding role models to follow as a result.

The Friday meeting that was called for permanent employees of the records management firm I work for also went well, according to my co-worker. It was basically a year end report and assessment of the company's position now and the direction they intend to pursue in the coming year. There wasn't as much work last year as hoped for, but that forced the company to review its own expenditures and clean up some sloppy practices. Firmer footing will likely be the result. Some strategic partnerships that have just been negotiated will solidify and expand their client base. It appears that there are some pending contracts in the southern US and in South America. It is expected that a number of staff will be sent to work on these.

I wouldn't mind trying that out as long as it is short term - no more than a few months. Right now, I still feel I need to be home for a couple of my guys. However, in another year or two I would like to be able to travel freely both for work in this industry and also for the contract I have with the Federal government. Often Returning Officers are sent as observers or advisors to countries where voting practices have been brought into question and international help is requested. Some of my colleagues have been to places like Bosnia, Indonesia, Haiti, Columbia, South Africa, Thailand, and the Ukraine.

In the companies I contract to, I have been trying to learn enough of the environmental reclamation techniques that are used here so that I can offer those skills as well if I go overseas. There are a number of scientists who have been quite generous in giving me brief lessons when time permits and I have had access to their technical libraries as well. Countries that have been torn apart by civil strife need to rebuild their vital infrastructure, including access to clean water and soil, so that their economies can be re-established as much as they need a stable political environment. Lack of either for very long destabilizes the country and makes them more vulnerable to being dragged back into the chaos that caused the breakdown in their society to begin with.

Anyway, it is something to work toward and it is something that I have wanted to do since I was in Junior High school. I loved having and raising my sons, but it is time I did something that is just for me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats