Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:52 a.m. - 2002-09-28
Resolution
There was a skiff of snow on everyone's lawns this morning when I left for work. For those who are winter challenged, it looks like someone took a massive bag of icing sugar and sprinkled it all over the grass. At this time of year, it melts when the sun comes up. You can tell whether it will remain or not by the state of the surrounding pavement. This morning it just looked like rain on the roads - water running freely in the runnels that form over time. When little icy patches start to show up on the road then you know that slush is likely to form and last for part of the day. When the snow sticks - then it`s winter.

I was carrying all the Christmas odds and ends I was supposed to bring to build our mini golf hole at work in my backpack and I carried the cookies. I think that pack weighed in at 40 lbs or better. I was tired, so the weight actually was a good thing. It kept my shoulders back and my body upright.

The snow/rain didn't slow the feeder busses at all so we made good time to the station. Luckily, the train wasn't very crowded today, so I had room to stow my pack under the seat and protect my baking. Fridays are usually treat day in downtown offices so the other riders just give you a little extra space if they see it's your turn.

I used the time delegated for my coffee break (I usually don't take one)to go pick up some cookie tins decorated with Bugs Bunny characters, some candied almonds, candles and little plush hedgehogs to make a nice little package for each dozen cookies for the bake sale. Wrapped each bundle up all together with craft ribbon I had left over from last Christmas.

I wasn't feeling very well today and the stress level is high. Another family member died on Wednesday - making four in less than three weeks and a friend's husband passed away yesterday. Four of the deaths were from cancer; the last was old age. I didn't feel very playful, so I just stuck to working until I had accomplished all the tasks I wanted to tie up by the weekend and then went home at 2 pm. My co-worker e-mailed her weekly stats to me at the end of the day so I could do my report and said that the event was a "hoot" and that the bake sale went well.

When I arrived home, the son who is going through the relationship breakup was waiting for me. He journals like I do. He had written about four pages of a letter to his partner and he wanted me to key it into the computer. I was very proud of the insight and honesty he showed when he wrote. There are a lot of adults twice his age who wouldn't be able to explore or process their emotions as well as he had. It read as well as any love song without being too maudlin or sugary. A friend is going to take it to her later.

My youngest son wandered in from school as I was finishing the keying. He is still having some trouble with stress during classes and had stayed to work out some strategies with his teachers. I'm pleased with the progress. The two boys are supporting each other with their challenges in a variety of ways and that please me too.

I finished reading the last book of the Dark is Rising series to my young men as they tried to calculate what materials we need to buy to fix the fence and some stuff in the house. All in all a good end to a long,long week.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats