Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:36 a.m. - 2002-09-27
Weekend Plans
I just finished baking a batch of shortbread. The end of the United Way's Corporate Challenge is this weekend. The event for tomorrow is pitch and putt golf in the hallways and workspaces of the company I am consulting to, with a bake sale and silent auction to finish it off. I helped design one of the holes and we decided on a Christmas theme, so the shortbread was just a natural fit. Apparently the punishment for not making par on a hole is to take a shot of liquor. I'm not certain after 18 holes, how many people are going to be able to even see the hole let alone make a putt. I'm still on meds to protect my heart while it heals and I don't usually drink anyway, so I won't be participating, but I imagine someone should be sober enough to turn out the lights at the end of the day.

There is a special fair on this weekend as well. It is called Word on the Street. It is a celebration of literature and includes authors from a range of genres meeting their public. There will also be readings and poetry workshops. Anything to do with the written word. It is held in the Market Square and is very popular. I might go just to look around or I might try wandering down one of the unique little avenues near the zoo - we have quite a large zoo in Calgary situated on it's own island in the Bow River - that is filled with antique and book stores. It's a great way to lose your workaday self for a while. The other alternative might be to curl up with a good book. It's supposed to be quite blustery this weekend so hibernating may be the best choice. Whatever I do, I plan to relax and try to release some of the stress of the past few weeks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats