Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 a.m. - 2002-09-24
Counting Your Blessings
Not a good day emotionally so I tried counting or acting on my blessings.

I thanked the team I work with in the Federal government for their work and support in our spring assignment. Team work across thousands of miles can be very difficult, especially when precision, tight deadlines, and absolute attention to detail is necessary. Communication over the internet helps, but it is no replacement for face to face interaction. Add in the fact I was quite sick and needed extra patience from them this time. We all had to work extra hard to ensure all the pieces fit together.

I'm thankful for the kindness that generally pervades social interaction here. For example, I'm not very tall. Often going home at the end of the work day means standing room only on the train. I don't mind that at all, as long as I have something to hang on to. The overhead straps require full extension of my shoulder to reach; the overhead bar requires me to stand on tiptoe. It's great for stretching out that joint and is a yoga posture, but on a rapidly moving vehicle, where a novice driver has difficulty with the gas and the brakes and I'm balancing on one foot holding a knapsack, dislocation is the more likely scenario. Lately, several taller men have made a point of shifting around and making sure I have a safer way to stay on my feet.

Today I saw a group of teenagers automatically make accommodation for a group of seniors. The feeder bus before ours had broken down. It was parked on the side of a very busy freeway some distance from our destination. Our bus pulled up behind to take on the stranded passengers. When the young men in our standing-room-only bus realized it was mostly seniors who were affected, they all exited the bus and started walking home carrying all their heavy school gear. There was no hesitation and it was done with no fuss AND a cheerful attitude. I'm glad we have so many good young people in this community.

I'm glad my health has held up so well and even improved a bit lately. Given all the extra stress, the body has coped very well. I'm glad I work where I can walk and climb at lunch in order to rebuild the strength I lost. I'm glad I have been able to find the energy at the end of the day to reinstate my yoga practices and do the writing (this exercise) that keeps me balanced emotionally and psychologically.

I'm thankful I have a job even if it is driving me crazy. I can't say I'm bored and I know I'm learning an extraordinary amount about environmental issues that will be very useful in the next while. Everything happens a certain way for a purpose. I just need to remember to be patient.

I'm glad I'm going to the chiropractor tomorrow. He knows exactly how to work the knots out without saying a thing. No preaching, no judgement - just good political debate while he works.

Tomorrow will be better.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats