Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 p.m. - 2002-09-20
Songs from the Heart
I just got paid for some of the work I did on my Federal contract in the spring. Most of the money is earmarked for repairs on my home - like rebuilding the fence and fixing the plumbing. This poor old house has been sadly neglected, partly because I had enough of a challenge making sure the boys were fed and clothed and ensuring all the essential bills were paid this past decade coping on my own. In addition, my ex stopped making payments on everything from our mortgage, to utilities to the phone about four months before he left. I wasn't aware of it until just before he left when creditors started calling. By that time, from my point of view, the debt was enormous. It has taken me a long time to pay everything off and I didn't really feel the money I earned was my own to spend until all those debts were honored. Finally that's all cleared away and my income is my own.

I decided to celebrate that fact just a little by indulging myself a little before I turned my attention to my home. Thus, I've gone on a bit of binge where buying CD's and books are concerned. All the books were on sale or used, but some of the CD's weren't. So tonight I'm going to review some of my favorite music both old and new - just to balance things a bit.

Music has always been a way to improve my mood. It helps me express my emotions. When I was younger, I sang in whatever choir was around and I took piano lessons for a little while. I can't really pursue either of those right now because of the lack of time, so the music in my life is vicarious.

I've mentioned some of the music that I carry to work. This week I was listening to different CDs because my emotions were different. For example, I listened to Sting because his work puts me in an edgy frame of mind. That is good because I find I am a little more creative.

Night Song by Nusrat Ali Khan is a mystical experience for me. It was some time after I got that CD that I learned that he was considered the greatest living qawwal in the Sufi tradition. The poetry of Rumi is representative of the material in his songs. The Sufis are very similar in their practices to the ecstatic mystical sects of Judaism and Christianity in the west.

Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation, Tina Turner's Simply the Best, and the Best of Aretha Franklin. Strong women who led the way for many other women. I admire them. I still haven't found a CD that I think does justice to Aretha's voice - guess I'll have to keep on looking.

Bryan Adams, Bruce Springsteen, and Lionel Ritchie just because I think they're sexy. I don't even notice the passage of time when I'm listening to their voices. Taj Mahal, Colin James, and B.B. King because their voices are soulful and I love listening to Lucille.

Most of my new CDs are classical. I already have a fairly good collection - in vinyl - but the boys hid the needle for the record player. At work, this genre usually doesn't help me because I tend to zone out while I'm listening; Gregorian and Tantric Chants have the same effect on me. I usually wait until I'm at home doing something, like writing, to listen to them. However, I now have some that are lively enough to keep me focussed. A CD of Bach's Tocatta and Fugues, Chopin's concerti/etudes, Pavarotti, and Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. My sons love the last one because it is fun to listen to. In addition, it's in German and Latin so they can try their linguistic skills out in real time. Five of my guys took German and two also took Latin - too bad their marks in these subjects (90+%) weren't reflected in some of their other classes.

The house will get my full and undivided attention - soon. When winter sets in it will be a warm little nest again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats