Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:30 a.m. - 2002-09-19
Vignettes
Too tired/stressed to write much tonight. Just cameos of the day.

Two young men on the train comparing their classes at university. Rating the quality of their courses. Most important factor? How many girls and how many are receptive to them. Worst class? Theoretical Mathematics - one girl she withdrew.

One young person on the train immersed in the music on their discman. Their cell phone ringing; completely unaware. A dozen rings later the amused attention of the surrounding passengers alerts the young one that they need to check their hip pocket.

Two aeronautical engineering students working through the diagrams of the effects of air currents vs wing design. Heated debate about lift. Highlighter battle ensues.

Walk at lunch. Large fire engine red double decker bus trundling through downtown. Driver on the RIGHT side of the vehicle. What next? Picadilly Circus?

The Market Plaza full of hype. Three media vans and cheerleaders "groovin" to the sounds of Love Train.

Up the steps of the north escarpment. My chiropractor asked how many. Walk, breathe, AND count?? Who is he kidding. I took some herbs that help reduce asthma/allergy attacks - tincture of lobelia and mullein often used, by the way, to stop smoking - by reducing the spasms and swelling that are part of an attack before I left work so I can count too. 150 steps. Last time, a version of the coroners' report flashed through my mind as I neared the top - massive heart attack but Great muscle definition - no wait, need more climbing before that becomes a reality so I guess I can't kick the bucket yet.

Down the hill via the Lion's Bridge. Three women walking in front obviously good friends and regular walking partners judging by the speed and natural rhythm they shared. Walking advertisements for mix and match sizing since they all had healthy body types for North American women (the physiotherapy training taking over) sharing all the elements deemed the "perfect figure" between them but all having different common figure "flaws" as well. On them they looked good. Everyone else on the climb in t-shirts and shorts with runners. Me - wool sweater and long skirt with runners carring my Jugo Juice pick me up - my reward for doing the aerobic drill. Oh well, I still get the benefits even if I don't fit the norm.

Picked up a new mystery by Dick Francis - hardback on sale! They always involve horses and some element of the horse trade. My favorite so far? A who dunit murder on a luxury train crossing Canada with the owners of several top of their breed show horses as the cast.

On the way home buskers. Really good singers. Mulling over why some people make it big in the music industry while equally talented singers don't.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats