Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:44 p.m. - 2002-09-13
Tradition
My youngest son's choice of Mandarin for a second language at High School caused some consternation among his older brothers.

It has to do with family tradition you see. Near the time my marriage ended, my oldest son started senior high. I encouraged him to take German because it was a positive link that could be maintained with his father's background - something of which he could be proud. My sons' father's family came from the Alsace-Lorraine region on the German/French border.

The German teacher, Herr B, believed that one could not understand a culture unless one learned of its food and music. As each son began senior high they were initiated into their German class with the cooking of traditional dishes. Food they understand; cooking/baking - not a problem. Cleaning? Well according to Herr B that was womens' work. We won't even go there.

My sons weren't too much for singing, but they did enjoy learning about the German Rock culture and expanded their music collections accordingly. My eldest son had loved Wagner from the time he was a small boy so classical music was part of the program too. It has been my practice to always include a few of the boys' CDs in the music I take to work each day so I could listen to their choices. It gave me insight into their state of mind and allowed for a few more "teachable moments" when I could discuss lyrics/issues with them. It meant I had to cart a German-English dictionary with me too.

Herr B also used to regale the class with tales of his childhood in Germany and of his family back home - especially his "famous" brother Ziggy. It's probably just as well that Ziggy never met any of Herr B's students.

I'm not certain why my youngest opted for Mandarin. Part of the reason, I think, is that Herr B was promoted to head up the technology development department for the school board. The new teacher is technically good but he is not Herr B. A lot of my youngest son's friends have roots in the Chinese culture and one of my daughters-in-law was born in mainland China, so its natural he would be curious to explore the culture more. Besides, he has grown up hearing all Herr B's stories many times over as each of his five older brothers provided the entertainment for the evening meal rehashing Herr B's news of the day. Also, as the youngest of six, I think sometimes it is hard to carve out a unique place that is special in the family circle. At least that is how my brother, who is the youngest of my four siblings, sees it. His comment was that he never got to do anything first. Maybe my youngest has found the solution. Don't follow the pack.

Besides, he is still honoring family tradition in other ways. The day I registered him for his classes we wandered the hallways of the school trying to locate all his classrooms. It is one of the oldest high schools in Calgary and it is like a maze - bits and pieces built over the last 90 years or so. On the walls were pictures from the graduating classes of his grandparents (my parents) and his brothers as well as some of his teachers and principals from years gone by and a lot of the current political leaders in our Province. Lots of stories to tell.

The bonus for me? A new language to try out. I figure if you can manage the formalities, make change, ask for directions, and order strawberries, oranges, and cream (well we all have to eat don't we - might as well be the best) you can cope in almost any new country or culture you find yourself in.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats