Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:01 p.m. - 2002-08-19
Rainy Night
The fresh sweet smell of rain. At the end of the day it's the best. It wasn't overly hot today - in the 70's (22 C) but muggy and stale. All the doors are open and the cool air is moving through the house preparing us all for sleep. In an area where drought has reached nearly crisis levels it is a blessing.

I picked up a great CD a couple of days ago (payday). The artist isn't a household name but one of his pupils (Peter Gabriel) might be recognisable. The instrumentals are familiar right away - the artist is Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. He died at the age of 43 a few years ago. His music is described as legendary by musicians in somewhat the same tones reserved for "the King".

My taste in music is eclectic because I've lived most of my life in a community that houses people from every part of the globe. It means that when I walk into my favorite music store, I get immediate attention from a couple of the "sales associates" because they just can never predict what I'll ask for next - breaks their monotony.

My work requires a lot of attention to detail so I use my discman to help the brain stay focussed. I chose this CD because it takes over and infuses that layer of the mind that tends to chatter when I'm supposed to be thinking, without interfering with the analytical functions I need to apply. The beauty of headphones, of course, is that no one else has to know what is flowing through your head. In the button down corporate environs I inhabit during the day,hearing this CD playing would cause a great deal of consternation since it isn't the "classic rock" that generally wafts down the halls from various offices.

Anyway, the rain has stopped for now - so off to bed.

Goodnight!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats